Welcome to CS 61BL!

June 24, 2019

  • We will be using Piazza as a primary form of communication and discussion this summer. Please join our course forum if you haven’t already. There are already a few announcements pinned there that you should be aware of.
  • These are our exams, and they are confirmed. Alternate exams will not be allowed except for DSP (Disabled Students’ Program) accommodations, for unforeseen emergency situations with documentation, or as required of us by university policy.
    • Midterm 1 will be Monday, July 8, 6-8pm.
    • Midterm 2 will be Monday, July 29, 6-8pm.
    • The Final Exam will be Thursday, August 15, 6-9pm.
Mon, Jun 24
Lab
Java & Git

Partnerships: Assigned by your lab TA. Partnerships are required. See the Collaboration Guide for more information.

Tue, Jun 25
Lab
Primitives & References

Partnerships: Assigned by your lab TA.

Wed, Jun 26
Lecture
Welcome to CS 61BL

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Jun 27
Lab
Conditionals, Loops, Arrays

Partnerships: Assigned by your lab TA.

Fri, Jun 28
Lab
OOP & Scope

Partnerships: Assigned by your lab TA.

Mon, Jul 1
Lab
Naked Linked Lists

Partnerships: Commit to a partner for the duration of Proj 1 (locked through Jul 5 – you must work together until then on all the labs and the project).

Tue, Jul 2
Lab
Linked List Enhancements
Wed, Jul 3
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Jul 4
Holiday
Independence Day
Fri, Jul 5
Lab
Runtime Analysis and Review
Mon, Jul 8
Exam
Midterm 1
Tue, Jul 9
Lab
Trees I

Partnerships: You choose.

Wed, Jul 10
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Jul 11
Lab
Trees II

Partnerships: You choose.

Fri, Jul 12
Lab
Project 2 Work Day

Partnerships: Commit to a partner for the duration of Proj 2 (locked through Jul 26).

Mon, Jul 15
Lab
BST's & Comparisons/Comparable
Tue, Jul 16
Lab
Balanced Search Trees
Wed, Jul 17
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Jul 18
Lab
Iterators
Fri, Jul 19
Lab
Project 2 Work Day
Mon, Jul 22
Lab
Hashing
Tue, Jul 23
Lab
Heap PQ
Wed, Jul 24
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Jul 25
Lab
Trie
Fri, Jul 26
Lab
Project 2 Workday
Mon, Jul 29
Exam
Midterm 2
Tue, Jul 30
Lab
Graphs

Partnerships: You choose.

Wed, Jul 31
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Aug 1
Lab
Graphs Algos

Partnerships: You choose.

Fri, Aug 2
Lab
KD-Trees

Partnerships: Commit to a partner for the duration of Proj 3 (locked through Aug 13).

Mon, Aug 5
Lab
Project 3 Work Day
Tue, Aug 6
Lab
Comparison-Based Sorts
Wed, Aug 7
Lecture
Lecture

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Aug 8
Lab
Counting-Based Sorts
Fri, Aug 9
Lab
Project 3 Work Day
Mon, Aug 12
Lab
MSTs and Disjoint Sets
Tue, Aug 13
Lab
Regex
Wed, Aug 14
Lecture
Final Exam Review

3–5 PM in 155 Dwinelle

Thu, Aug 15
Exam
Final Exam
Fri, Aug 16
Holiday
Non-Instructional Day
List of lab sections
# Time Location Staff
101 8–11 AM 275 Soda Alex Schedel, Claire Ko
102 11 AM–2 PM 275 Soda Jonathan Murata
103 2–5 PM 275 Soda Itai Smith
104 5–8 PM 275 Soda Julianna White
105 9 AM–12 PM 277 Soda Zoe Plaxco, Gi-Gi Lu
106 11 AM–2 PM 330 Soda Joe Deatrick
107 2–5 PM 330 Soda Gi-Gi Lu, Zoe Plaxco
108 5–8 PM 330 Soda Lauren Hong, Wallace Lim
109 5:30–8:30 PM 277 Soda Charles Hager, Won Ryu
110 4–7 PM 200 Sutardja Dai Ryan Nuqui, Aditya Sengupta
111 11 AM–2 PM (Mon 10 AM–1 PM) 271 Soda Ryan Purpura, Pranav Bhasin
112 7–10 PM (Fri 2–5 PM) 273 Soda Brandon Fong

All labs meet on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. (Lectures are on Wednesday.)

200 Sutardja Dai is located next to Yali's Qualcomm Cafe. Tap your Cal1Card to the grey pad near the door for access.

Instructor office hours are to be determined. Our office is located at 779 Soda