Week 2 Announcements

June 24, 2022

  • Project 1: Deques has been released, and due Sunday, 7/3 at 11:59 PM. There will be a project party on Thursday from 7-9PM and Friday from 4-6PM in Wozniak Lounge and over Zoom. The link is on the calendar below. When you join, please enter an empty breakout room and add yourself on oh.datastructur.es to receive help!
  • The instructors and head TAs recognize the impact that the Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade has on our communities, whether it affects you directly or not. We want to accommodate those who are impacted either personally, through spending time with community, or supporting those personally affected, and completely understand if 61bl work is deprioritized for the time being. If you would like support in the form of extensions or would like to be connected with counseling/healthcare resources, please contact our head of student support, Sav Bowerfind (savbowerfind@berkeley.edu).
  • The first weekly survey is released and can be found here. It’s due Monday at 6 PM and is worth half a credit of extra credit point.
  • Quiz 1 scores are released and can be viewed on gradescope. If you are not satisfied with your score on the quiz, you may sign up for redemption tutoring. Signups are released here and tutoring will be held on Monday throughout the day. Quiz 1 redemption will open on Tuesday noon and close Wednesday 6 PM. All locations can be found at the bottom of the page.
  • We have opened up a few more slots for recurring tutoring. You can sign up here.
  • Want to find a lab/project partner? Feel free to post in the #partnership channel in the unofficial class discord. Join the discord here.
  • Lab signups should be reflected in Beacon, and you can use now your first slip day. To switch sections or enroll in one, please email cs61bl@berkeley.edu. If you are not enrolled in a lab section, your deadline will be set to the earliest deadline which is 6 AM the day after lab.
  • All zoom links for lab and instructor office hours can be found on the bottom of the page.
  • Project 0 is due Sunday, 6/26 at 11:59 PM! Project 1 will be released on the evening of Monday, 6/27.

Past Announcements

Mon, Jun 20
Tue, Jun 21
Wed, Jun 22
Lecture
Primitives and References, and Git

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Slides | Video

Thu, Jun 23
Tue, Jun 28
Wed, Jun 29
Lecture
Encapsulation and Intro to Inheritance

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Slides | Video

Thu, Jun 30
Fri, Jul 1
Mon, Jul 4
Holiday
Independence Day
Tue, Jul 5
Lab
Persistence and Gitlet
Wed, Jul 6
Lecture
Gitlet and SWE, Inheritance

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Slides | Video

Thu, Jul 7
Lab
Inheritance
Fri, Jul 8
Lab
Asymptotics
Mon, Jul 11
Lab
Project 2 Work Day
Tue, Jul 12
Lab
Midterm Review
Wed, Jul 13
Lecture
Iteration, Streams, Lambdas, and OOP Design

Time: No live lecture due to midterm

Slides | Video

Thu, Jul 14
Lab
Exceptions and Iterations
Fri, Jul 15
Lab
Trees and Traversals
Mon, Jul 18
Lab
Binary Search Trees
Tue, Jul 19
Lab
Balanced Search Trees
Wed, Jul 20
Lecture
Balanced Search Trees and k-d Trees

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Slides | Video

Thu, Jul 21
Lab
k-d Trees and Tries
Fri, Jul 22
Lab
Hashing
Mon, Jul 25
Lab
BYOW Introduction
Tue, Jul 26
Lab
Heaps and Priority Queues
Wed, Jul 27
Lecture
Hashing, Heaps, and Graphs

Slides | Hashing Video | Heaps and Graphs Videos

Thu, Jul 28
Lab
Graphs
Fri, Jul 29
Lab
Graph Algorithms
Mon, Aug 1
Lab
Disjoint Sets
Tue, Aug 2
Lab
Minimum Spanning Trees
Wed, Aug 3
Lecture
MST, SPT, and Sorting

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Slides | Video

Thu, Aug 4
Lab
Comparison Sorts
Fri, Aug 5
Lab
Counting Sorts
Mon, Aug 8
Lab
BYOW Presentations
Tue, Aug 9
Lab
Final Review
Wed, Aug 10
Lecture
Final Exam Review

Time: 3-5pm PDT

Live Lecture Link

Worksheet | Solutions | Slides | Video

Thu, Aug 11
Lab
TBD
Fri, Aug 12
Exam
Final Exam

Course Staff Discord Link: link

List of online lab sections
TA Name Zoom Link Time (PDT)
Logan Caraco https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/92250096041?pwd=S2ppMmpsTGVhVXp5REcvTkx6MGlFZz09 9am - 12 noon
Circle Chen https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/98563496514 11am - 2pm
Sav Bowerfind https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/sav.zoom.room 1pm - 4pm
Jasmine Lin https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/98694333746 2pm - 5pm
Shirley Chen https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/92469172160 3pm - 6pm
Max Ye https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/94473678120 6pm - 9pm
Laksith Prabu https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/95147170674 8pm - 11pm
List of in-person lab sections
TA Name Room Time (PDT)
Ted Lin Soda 273 8am - 11am
Aram Kazorian Soda 275 11am - 2pm
Sadia Qureshi & Noah Adhikari Soda 273 1pm - 4pm
Ryan Nuqui Soda 277 2pm - 5pm
Grace Jung Soda 275 2pm - 5pm
David Lee Soda 273 5pm - 8pm
List of online tutor sections
Tutor Name Zoom Link Time (PDT)
Yaofu Zuo https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/93979749102?pwd=MDVkME5xbWxFdmEzVFBubTdmU1ZYZz09 10am - 11am (Recurring), 10am - 10:30am (Redemption)
Zhenyi You https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/3299321349 11am - 12 noon (Recurring), 2:30pm-3pm (Redemption)
James Nguyen http://berkeley.zoom.us/my/j.nguyen 12 noon - 1pm (Recurring), 12:30pm-1pm (Redemption)
Shreyas Kallingal https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/98854394934?pwd=L3JlOHFhTkYySUhzdkZqUnI4NHNBUT09 2pm-3pm and 6pm-7pm (Recurring), 3:30pm-4pm and 5:30pm-6pm (Redemption)
Eddy Byun https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/9245527268 12 noon - 12:30 PM (Quiz Redemption Only)
Ashley Ye https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/2408880365 3pm - 4pm (Recurring), 3pm-3:30pm (Redemption)
Adit Shah https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/aditshah 2pm - 2:30pm (Quiz Redemption Only)
Ethan Pang https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/ethanpang 4pm - 5pm (Recurring), 4pm-4:30pm (Redemption)
Jacob Wu http://oh.jacobwu.org/ 4pm - 4:30pm (Quiz Redemption Only)
Mira Bali https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/9441508469 4:30pm-5pm (Quiz Redemption Only)
Raymond Tan https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/95143369923 5pm - 6pm (Recurring), 5pm-5:30pm (Redemption)
Angelina Songco https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/angelinasongco 6pm - 7 pm (Recurring), 7pm-7:30pm (Redemption)
Stanley (Seung-Hyun) Kwon https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/stanleykwon 7pm - 8pm (Recurring), 7:30pm-8pm (Redemption)
Abhi Ganesh https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/abhiganesh 7pm - 7:30pm (Quiz Redemption Only)
Lucy Lu https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/lucylu 10pm - 11pm (Recurring), 5pm-5:30pm (Redemption)
Anirudh Kothapalli https://berkeley.zoom.us/my/anirudhkothapalli 11pm - 12 midnight (Recurring), 10pm-10:30pm (Redemption)
List of in-person tutor sections
Tutor Name Room Time (PDT)
Eddy Byun Cory 531 1pm - 2pm (Recurring Tutoring Only)
Adit Shah Cory 531 2pm - 3pm (Recurring Tutoring Only)
Mira Bali Cory 531 3pm - 4pm (Recurring Tutoring Only)
Jacob Wu Cory 531 4pm - 5pm (Recurring Tutoring Only)
Abhi Ganesh Cory 212 6pm - 7pm (Recurring Tutoring Only)

All labs meet on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays at the times specified above.

Lectures will on Wednesdays from 3-5pm and will be conducted in VLSB 2050 and through Zoom.

Instructor office hours will be conducted through Zoom. The weekly schedule for office hours is 1-2pm and 7-8pm on Mondays and Thursdays and 9-10am and 1-2pm on Tuesdays and Fridays.
We are also available through appointments outside of those hours. Especially if these times do not work with your time zone, please email cs61bl@berkeley.edu to set up an appointment.